Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AD831 Mixer help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwingeyP

Hello.

I am very new to RF design and could do with some help & advice. I am using an AD831 mixer as shown in the attached circuit.

The video shows the circuit on my development board and what I think is the two mixed signals. This is without any voltage connected to the device 9v?
When I connect a 9v battery the chip starts to get hot. I have checked and double checked the circuit. It's basically what is described on the datasheet. Why should the chip be getting hot. Also the voltage drops from 9v to 8.6v when connected.

It appears that the mixer IS doing something. When I adjust the signal generator you can see the waveform change.
Is this the kind of trace I should expect to see?
Why is the chip getting hot?

Scope settings
Sweep .2 us
Volts/Div 10mv

LO = (from DDS) 4Mhz @ 20mv
RF IN (from signal generator) 7Mhz @ 10mv

I hope this makes sense your help is MUCH appreciated.

Cheers - Paul (M0TVU)

Attachments

• AD831.png
    AD831.png
    67 KB · Views: 2,669
The datasheet tells us that the quescent current is 100/110mA, which with a 9v supply is getting on for 1 watt.
So it will get hot.
Also your little 9v battery will be working quite hard, which is why its voltage drops a bit.

Probably.
What you are seeing is a mess of the local oscillator, the signal and the IF output.