Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AC motor control with an H-bridge

Status
Not open for further replies.

ozgur84

Hello Everybody,

I am new in forum and I am not an electronic engineer,I am a Physicist. That's why I need some help for a basic motor control circuit which I want to make some additions to control an AC gear motor.

I found a basic DC motor controller circuit which can drive a low voltage DC motor. **broken link removed** you can see the circuit diagram.

I also found a good electric gear motor 1r/min which can perfectly work for my application in the local store. However the motor is an 230V 50Hz 3Watts AC motor.

My plan is using the connections of two 555 IC Timer (3rd legs, at where the motor leads are connected on the circuit diagram above) with two NPN transistors (MOSFETs I think) which are capable of working at 230V. I think, I can supply the Transistor part of the circuit with 230V separated from the timer circuit and I connect the 3rd legs of 555s to the 1st connections (base) of the NPNs.

At this point, first, I want to know which transistors I can use and second, what sort of extra additions should I make

Thank you all in advance...

PS: I think I can supply the 555s with 3 to 15V. There is no limitation here.

This schematic is for a DC motor. It won't work for an AC induction motor.
For an AC motor you need a Triac.

If 0 to 100% speed control of an AC motor is required, then you need a variable frequency drive.

What exactly do you want to do?