Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AC-DC-AC Circuit Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

dharrington86

Hi all,

I am currently a studying Electrical Engineering and for my final year project I am studying the way in which an electrical tram works (light rail system). These systems distribute electricity in DC and convert it to AC on the tram to feed the motors.
For this project i will need to build a circuit using a software package (PSpice, Yenka or something similar), i will also be building a physical model once i have a working version figured out using a software package. My degree so far has been largely based on electric Power systems rather than electronics. i was wondering if anybody could advise me on a three phase converter system that i could build to change an three phase AC input to DC and then back to AC again. I have been trying it with IGBT's and diodes but with little luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Derek

You don't say how big (current and voltage) you motor is but it sounds big.

You should be able to rectify the 3 phase comming in - for safety it would be nice to isolate it but motor size may prohibit that.

The motor is probably a brushless motor? In which case brushless motor chips are easy to find. Then maybe your big IGBTs to acually drive the windings.

Hi ronv,