Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Absolute beginner - LED power supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

taj1987

Hello,

I am at a dead end and could really do with some help.

I need to power Luxeon LEDs (forward current 700 mA, forward voltage 6.84 V) for an experiment but have absolutely no idea how to power them. I have acces to universal power sources, can I use one of these and attach it with crocodile clips?

The LED can be found at https://uk.farnell.com/lumileds/lxhl-...?Ntt=lxhl-pm02

I have found LED power supplies such as **broken link removed** but have no idea whatsoever if this would do the job.

Am I always going to require a resistor with an LED, I was trying to avoid this because I cannot find anyone to help me in person and am completely clueless. I have other LED options 3.0 mW, T-1 3/4 or 7 mW, TO-1 3/4, would these still require resistors?

I apologise for my lack of knowledge but have contacted all of the suppliers of the LED and power supply that I could find but have had no help

The LEDs are to excite certain tracers. I am going to suspend them, somehow, not quite figured that bit out yet. I am not sure what you mean by supply voltage. I have access to regular power sources or I can purchase another one if required (or if it's easier). Do all LEDs need resistors? For example, are mounted LEDs exactly the same?