Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A sort of Analog to Digital convertor!

Status
Not open for further replies.

muso52

Hello Guys,

Not so much a newbie here, oldbie would be more appropriate!
What I thought would be relatively simple to build has confronted me with a number of difficulties and so I would appreciate your help and advise.

The requirement of the circuit is to ‘sense’ when a varying and predetermined DC voltage is applied to a circuit and convert this to a TTL output.

Essentially the above comprises two elements.
The first one is a standard variable (via pot) 0-14v 1a DC motor controller using a Darlington-pair driving an Output Transistor.
The second element comprises a circuit that senses when a particular voltage, say 6v (and above) is outputted from the controller and changes a logic 0 to 1 i.e. 5v
It should be stated also, that the former needs to be electrically isolated from the dc motor output.
Now the idea I came up with was the simple use of a diode ladder network.