Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A question about speakers and crossovers (from an electronics dunce).

Status
Not open for further replies.

Royston

Can I start by saying I am not an electronic engineer, I'm a musician? I have managed in the last 20 years to put together various PA systems and instrument amps and cabinets without blowing myself up, due to my rudimentary knowledge of Watts and Ohms. I can also spot a black, frazzled resistor when I see one, and solder in a new one. That's about as far as my knowledge goes, hence my question.

I am building a new speaker cabinet for my double bass. So far I have two 10" 200W 8Ω cones, and I want to wire them up in parallel to give me a 400W 4Ω cabinet. My amplifier puts out 350W at 4Ω, but the performance is frankly a bit rubbish with an 8Ω cabinet. So I want to keep my cabinet as close to 4Ω as possible.

I would quite like to add some sort of tweeter to the system. The performance of the cones rolls off quite sharply at 2kHz, and I would like to make the sound just a little bit more lively than that. I looked at high-impedance peizo horn tweeters, which do not require a crossover, but I have been told they can be problematic in a high-powered rig like this, and they don't really kick in until 4-5kHz, so there would be a big hole in the middle of the sound.