Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A question about inverters from a newbie......

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrsussex

Hi all,

I am a photographer looking for advice on how to power a studio flash system, on location using a battery/inverter combination.

I have a studio flash pack, about 10-15 years old, with no specification label on it. It is a 240v unit with a 5amp fuse, so clearly it uses less than 1200watts. It is basically a box of pretty big capacitors.

I want to run this from a 12v battery/inverter combination (petrol generators are apparently no good for this due to the dirty (spikey) supply they give, unless you buy an expensive one.

My flash pack is also fitted with a auto sensing input voltage thingy, which means I can plug it into a 110v or 240v mains supply without needing a transformer.

My questions are:

Apparently, one of the issues is that after the flash fires and the pack draws current, the voltage from the inverter drops slightly and confuses the voltage sensor causing it to not work.

Is this true? If I bought a 1500watt inverter, would this get around the problem since it is rated higher than the 1200watt flash pack?

I also understand that it will need a pure sine wave inverter, can anybody recommend a good make that is available in the UK?

Is there likely to be a way to bypass the voltage sensor, since I will only ever use the pack on 240v?