Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A Newbie question on Zener Diodes

Status
Not open for further replies.

rational

Hi,

I am a newbie to electronics and I am trying to build a power supply with output of 12 Volts and 200 Watts. I want to use a zener diode as a voltage regulator in the circuit. However the highest wattage rating zener diode that I can find is of 50 watts. I would like to know if using 4 of these can add up to 200 watts. Could anyone plz give me a circuit block diagram of such a power supply ? I am confused about the zener diodes : should they be used in parallel or in series ?

I would very much appreciate a reply.

I have one more question. When the reverse breakdown occurs in a zener diode, it allows a large current to flow through it. Assuming that the input voltage is 50v and the zener voltage is 12v, is the difference (50v-12v) completely dissipated as heat. Or does a zener allow this difference to be converted into a large current flow (which occurs when the reverse breakdown takes place) ?

Thanks

It is not that simple you need to see the power rating of the Zener other wise it will burn.Yes the current will increase rapidly after Zener Voltage is reached.It is converted in to heat.

Last edited:
All the energy is converted to heat.

A zener regulator uses exactly the same amount of power when a load is connected as when it's unloaded. This is why zeners are only used for very low power voltage references.