Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

9v usb ipod charger help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cameron589

Hello,

Im kinda new to electronics and im trying to make a portable 9v usb ipod charger.

My goal is to make it so i can plug a 9 volt battery into the circuit and have a female usb connector output 5 volts so i can charge my ipod.

Ive got all these parts, but im not sure how to correctly wire them together.

Could someone tell me how to wire it correctly?

**broken link removed**

Thanks,
Cameron

Why do you want to do that?

That little 9V battery won't be able to charge your mp3 player without being drained flat.

Circuit configuration

Cameron,

here is the basic configuration:

**broken link removed**

Once the ipod has been charged, will the ipod disconnect the 'charger' or will it continue to charge?

An alkaline 9v battery can only deliver approx 0.6A for an hour before it dies

Regards,

The 7805 needs to have a minimum input voltage of about 7.5V. The little 9V battery's voltage will quickly drop to less than 7.5V before the ipod's battery is charged. The little 9V alkaline battery is too weak for this job.

The dropoutvoltage varies with the current, for light loads, it's 2V and for heave loads it's 3V.

Interestingly I have an NiMH 9V battery that's 9.1V when fully charged and it doesn't drop much below that value until it's flat.