Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

8051 PWM with keypad entry

Status
Not open for further replies.

LApprenti Sorcier

Hi!

I'm studying the 8051 microcontroller and I'm trying to build a circuit that will give me a PWModulated output. Something like a 100-micro-second period. To be modulated on 1% increments.
I also need to be able to give the 8051 a percentage by means of a numeric keypad. It would be nice to have an LCD display on which to read the current setting.

I have some experience on the 8051, but have never used a keypad or LCD display.

Anyone, a suggestion on where to start?

Use P89C51RD2 which has hardware PWM generator. Otherwise with software you won't get 100uS period.
For tutorials on 8051 visit www.8052.com

Hi!

Why can't I get a 100us period? I don't need it to be 100U sharp, just about that. But now that I think about it, I could use nything up on the ms range. 50ms is not bad...

What I need is to digitally (keypad input) control the pulse width, but after having processed that input

i.e. The input will be a speed in rpm, the microcontroller has to calculate the necessary PW based on known parameters, modify the pulse width and well... output it.

Later on I will need to use an ADC to read a voltage, input it to the 8051 and use that datum to recalculate the PW in real time. So I could use some help with that too.

Thanks!