Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

8051 programmer.. pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

desperadogear

im a novice programmer.. kindly help me with the links for an 8051 programmer and d software related to it..

earlier ive attempted to program ATmega8535 but that ic is not available in india... if any of u have idea where to place a request for a sample ic for college project pls tell

Not sure if you can still get them, but in the old days when I did microprocessors. Dallas Semi had a DS5000. An 8051 chip you
would program via the com port. See what they might have. Think it
had a RTC as well.

Otherwise, why not google for "intel 8051 programmer software"

That is what I would do.

desperadogear said:
kindly help me with the links for an 8051 programmer and d software related to it

I have a question. Where do you want to store the program when you are done? Directly in the 8051 chip (if it supports it), or do you want to use external EEPROM for your code and have it connected to the 8051 at run time?

The former option is good, if you are looking for compactness, if you need more ports to play with (up to 26 I think), or if you have an extra-low budget.

The latter is better in my opinion. Even though more chips are required for the 8051 to work in this mode, it is still better, because the EEPROM is separated from the processor, and if you have 500 programs on 500 EEPROM's and all EEPROM's are the same, pick an eeprom, plug it in, and you are ready to go.