Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

74ls90/74ls47 foosball scoring--help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Torben

Hi all,

Short version: can you display a count from 0-4 on a 7seg led display using a 74ls90 and a 74ls47, and detect the carry when it cycles back to 0?

Long version:
My name is Torben and this is my first post. I am a computer programmer by day and a budding electronics hobbyist by night. I got the notion to build an automatic scoring system for my foosball table. This is my first digital circuit after a few analog AF projects (opamp guitar amp, bat detector, etc).

Looking through my junk box, I found a 74ls90 counter and a 74ls47 bcd led decoder/driver. Seems perfect. I made a simple debouncer with a 555, which also allows me to set the retrigger time with the timing cap on the 555. With a 7seg display, it counts from 0-9 nicely.

Unfortunately, foosball is scored best of 9, meaning that the first to 5 wins. So I need a counter which starts from 0, increments through 4, and when going to 5 signals the win (and resets the system but I'll deal with that next).

I have tried various setups on the 74ls90, and I can get it to count by 2, by 1 from 0 to 9, to count from 0 to 1, etc. But I cannot seem to figure out the way to make it increment from 0 to 5 (4 is fine if I can detect the carry to signal the win when it goes over to 5).