Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

74150 Multiplexer help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zephyr

Hey,

I've got an ROV project going on in my school, and I want to use a multiplexer to control the motors via MOSFETS or the like.

I'm relatively new to electronics, so, i'll just float a few questions on this board.

The datasheet's located here

1. What on earth does a strobe input configure?
  2. When it says Supply current (Max), does it mean I have to add some sort of electronic ballast to limit the current (A small resistor in series)?
  3. What are the data select pins for (ABC)?

I'm using the 151 - but the difference isn't huge. I haven't got much experience in reading data sheets, as you probably can tell.

Any help would be great.

Last edited:
hi,
The strobe must be low for the IC outputs to enabled.
Supply current max is the typical current consumption of the iC when its operating... no limiting resistors are required
The 3 pins A,B,C are the address lines used to select the desired input pin.

Last edited:
Thanks!

I got everything but the last one. What do you mean by selecting the desired data input pin? Because from what I understand, multiplexers combine those 16 inputs into one output, and i'll need a demux at the ROV side to turn the signal back to 16 outputs.