Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

741 op-amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

electro_Rookie

I'm new to the 741 op-amp, and I'm trying to understand some basic concepts, like what will happen if the load resistance is low and approaches the output resistance of the 741 op-amp? (The output is feedback into the negative terminal with the positive terminal grounded creating an inverted output.)

My though is the low resistance will increase the current that is feed back into the negative terminal, but i don't how that will effect the 741 op-amp. Also with the low resistance and high current the input voltage will be greater at the input, and in fact decrease the gain of the op-amp, and the output voltage will be low. Does anything else happen or am I way off on everything???
Thank you everyone
Heath

Forget the 741. It was a poor excuse for an op amp when it was created 30years ago. It is the VW Beetle of opamps.

You a bit off on your understanding of how inverting opamps work. For an inverting opamp, the current in the feedback resistor is equal to the current in the input resistor (because the current into the inverting input is essentially zero).