Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

60Hz pulse generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

nathanoyler

Hi there. I'm an electronics novice that decided to build a digital clock as a good starter project. I got the concept from this site: HowStuffWorks "How Digital Clocks Work" and ordered a bunch of stuff to get it going. Of course, I realize that modern clocks aren't jammed full of a bunch of decade counters, but that's not the point of the project.

The concept is simple enough...using a 10VAC/1.2A power supply, I could take the 60hz wave of the AC and divide it down twice with decade counters (one dividing by 10 and another by 6). Voila, a 1 Hz pulse to feed into a 74LS90 IC as a second counter. To do this, though, I need to get a 60Hz pulse into the first decade counter. From the diagram (attached), it should be done simply with a resistor and a 5.1v zener diode. So, I finish out the basic circuit consisting of the 5VDC power supply and decade counters. The 60hz pulse, though, isn't working. It seems like this should be the easiest part, but alas, it has me stumped.

From the attached diagram, I have 10VAC connected to a 1K resistor. The other side of the resistor is then connected to the zener and the input on the decade counter. The other side of the zener is connected to the 5VDC ground. I have LEDs connected to the outputs of the second decade counter so that I can see it output binary 0 to 9. It just turns on a single LED and doesn't count, though.