Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

555 timer help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

docscott999

I am an amateur in electronics but I know the basics. I am trying to create a circuit with an on time of about 1s and an off time of about 8min. The circuit I have attached is supposed to allow this with the potentiometers. However with the potentiometers the on and off time are about equal, that is on/off of more than 4 min regardless of where I set the pot dials to.

Without the pots, I get an on time of about 4.6s and off time of about 1.2s. I know I need a duty cylce of less than 50% but putting a diode across R4 does absolutely nothing. I have read that the diode should allow my to get a duty cycle of <50%.

I don't know enough as to what to do next. Can anyone help me achieve the values I need of a time on of 1-2s and a time off of 8-10min?

R3 = 1K Ohm
R4 = 390 Ohm
C1 = 4,700 mF (electrolytic)

R1 = 100K Pot
R2 = 10K Pot

Attachments

• schematic.gif
    schematic.gif
    16 KB · Views: 200
The secret is to get rid of the inverter.
On time is about 1s (diddle R1) , off time ~470s (diddle R2).

Charge time constant is (R1 + R2)*680e-6, Discharge time constant is R1*680e-6.

Attachments

• D28a.jpg
    D28a.jpg
    173.5 KB · Views: 173
  • D28b.jpg
    D28b.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 156
Last edited: