Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

4/2 Line router (audio) and 2/1 Line router (audio)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bfish

Hi,

I'm a newbie. I've worked witha breadboard and sodering iron. The problem I'm trying to solve is this:

I've made a bag that holds 3 mp3 players and a CD player. It also holds 2 cell phones. I want a switch (preferably passive) That lets me send any one of the audio devices to either of two headphones. I also want to be able to switch the cell phones to one headset/mic. Thus, I see two "routers" (I'm a programmer, sorry). One router is 4/2 to send any of the 4 audio devices to either of two headphones. The other router is 2/1 to send either of the two cell phones to one headphone/mic.

I'd like to keep this light and small so that it will fit unobtrusevly in the bag and I don't want it to be powered unless it has to be so that I don't have to fiddle with batteries.

My initial thought was that I'd just build a box that switched four input jacks to an output and then split the output with another switch. A friend said that I'd get awful degredation, feedback, etc. He said I'd need to add resistors, but I have no idea where. When I looked around to buy one of these they were exceedingly rare and quite costly. So...are they costly because they are ridiculously complicated or because nobody else is so silly as to carry so much duplicate crap around?