Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3rld world country step-force monitoring device (pedometer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

deeohgoh

hey guys! i am a final year student in biomedical engineering and my masters project involves a lot of electronics that i am not familiar with.

i have to build a cheap/strong step/force monitor device for thirld world amputation patients. the problem is that i am more of a mechanics person so the electronics are kind of worrying me! i took this project because it winteresting and (maybe too much) challenging.

the pedometer would have to measure number of steps per day + force applied on the crutch evolution through time. these would need to be stored in some kind of memory device for about 2 months.

so far I bought some accelerometers, ADXL330
and i have done the stress analysis and will order some strain gages to measure crutch strain while walking.
i will also have to buy a PIC (which one would you recommend?) and next years student will work on the memory device and output ports.

I now have to start testing the accelerometer and strain gages on amputation patiets to see what outputs they give me, so that the PIC can be programmed. you have any idea on what kind of testing circuits I would have to build for it?

after I know what signals they give me, I will have help of a technician to programme the PIC. what PIC would you advise me to buy? and how will the programming go? i know it is going to be a long iterative process.