Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3phase-low Voltage source

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraJackson

Hey all,

I am going to need a low voltage 3phase power source that I can change the voltage profile, the amplitude 0-60V and the frequency.

Note that it will be connected to an "open circuit" (no load-no current). I am studying the generated electromagnetic effect for my research.

I looked into generators, convertors, VFD but they all work with 110-450V.
Is there any way I can get at least three phase output from DC or AC for my application?

Thanks,
Sara

Use a VFD unit to drive three single phase Variac transformers. It will see the transformers as a load and give you the ability to vary the frequency plus the variable transformers will allow for independent voltage adjustment from there.

You missed a few critical parameters.

What's the max current per phase? (I see it's zero)
What's the frequency range?
Voltage: what units Peak to peak, RMS
Waveform: Sinusoidal or other
Phase relationship? 120 deg apart or variable?
4-quadrant or 2-quadrant power? (Has to be two quadrant)
Is distortion important?

It might be possible to generate the signals with multiple arbitrary waveform generators.
With 3 sinusoidal oscillators, you probably could generate, 3 waveform phases.
You could possibly do this with a DAQ system too.

But I can't make any suggestions until you answer the questions.