Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

300W Adjustable / constant current discharger (again?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

T i m

Hi all,

First post here so please be gentle with me. ;-)

I have been playing with electronics / electro-mechanical 'stuff' since I was a kid but I'm no designer. I spent 5 years with British Telecom in their electronics repair workshop, a year with Kodak on microfiche and film gear and another 15 years with a local datacomms Co installing and (field / bench) repairing their own products.

I also built and ran a mobile disco for a few years (for fun), where the building included building all the speaker cabinets, amplifiers, and light sequencers etc (that was my real interest). When I say 'building' I really mean 'assembling from a plan' or (ideally), a kit of parts. I also co-designed and completely built some of this stuff with a mate (I provided the requirement, he (mostly) provided the design and I built it). Why did I prefer building rather than just buying ready made? Well, partly price and availability (in those days) and partly with a d-i-y solution you also got the circuit diagrams so self repair was also possible. ;-)

Anyway, along with the thousands of things I'm supposed to be doing on my ever growing 'To Do' list, I have a couple of projects on the go, the first of which I'l mention here. It's all very close to this thread:

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/automated-load-tester.125069/page-5