Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3 ph wind generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amfuel

Hi all, I'm a newbie here, I just found this place, I like good active forums, this looks to be a very active site. I think I'll enjoy it and I'm looking forward to browsing here regularly.

Here is the deal, I have a Fisher Pakel washer and when I tore it apart I realized it had a 3 phase dc motor in it. (I do things like that when I spot interesting things.) I decided to see if I can make a VAWT out of it. I have the outer tub cut to the base for the generator mounting and shaft, lower spin basket with balancing liquid that free wheels and the agitator that will provide a mount structure for savvy blades. This has really good bearings that are designed to take the abuse of out of balance loads. I built a stand for it and so far I have the machine cost of $9 and $0 in parts. The bad news is FP doesn't provide much of any tech info on the machine. The appliance industry if rather greedy about those things.

The motor - 3 phase brushles DC, 42 coil stator, 14 magnet rotor cover, 32 ohms between legs. I can generate 12vac at about 8-10 rpm and up to about 450vac when I run it up with a drill motor to top speed, about 800 rpm. I have no idea what the amperage output might be as I'm skittish to add a load to find out. I did add a small 12v motor and realized that it will run the motor at very low rpm across 2 legs.