Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

24H 7-segment binary clock

Status
Not open for further replies.

spitfire

Hi, I am currently studying digital circuits and have been wanting to make a digital clock for some time now. I have made a simple 0 - 9999 counter using a pic but I would like to use BCD counters and gates to make a 24 Hour digital clock with 4 7-segment displays eg H H : M M format.

I have a rough idea of how to make it but I'm having trouble with the multiplexing of the displays as I would like this clock to be portable and run on batteries. I was thinking of making this circuit for the 1Hz clock pulse signal as I want it to be fairly accurate: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Practical_Electronics/Plugins/1Hz_Oscillator
or is there a simpler way as I would like to keep the size and cost down of the project.

This is a basic layout of the circuit I will be using:**broken link removed**

also not shown on the picture but 4 x 74ls47 for the displays?

and for the multiplexing I had 2 x 74LS153 in mind. or 1 x any Quad 4 input mutiplexer.

Just need some adicve from people with experience to double check if this solution could work and if I would need more components (maybe use a decoder/dmux ic?)...or maybe even an easier way you might be able to suggest.

By the way this is my first time working with components like these on my own.

Thanks

This isn't the 1970's! :D