Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

24 volt bicycle motor switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

McCoy

Hello everyone, I am totally new to electronics so bear with me. I am trying to make a simple switch for a 24 volt electric bicycle project. I have a 24 volt .5 HP motor from ampflow.com.
I was thinking I should use a 24 volt relay switch for throttle, but I'm not sure. I'm concerned the initial torque of the motor will be too high and possibly damage the drive system. I was wondering what some possible solutions are? Can I wire 2 batteries to 1 switch, say one 3 volt and one 24 volt? so the switch would work off>3volt>24volt , that way the 3 volt battery could "take up the slack" a bit so the 24 volt isn't too much of a jolt. Is there another way to make a "soft start" type switch for this type of thing? Is a relay switch even the best way to go? I know there are PWM controllers available but they are pricey, I'd like to keep this project cheap and as efficient as possible. thanks all :)

I had an electric bike with a 12V motor and a plain switch, and always had soft starts under load.

Don't know where you plan to find a 3V battery capable of 20 Amperes, but you could rig a 3 position switch to four 6Volt batteries to make them all in parallel to start at 6V, then another position to make series-parallel for 12V, and a third position for all in series for 24V.

Thanks for reply Externet, are you saying you used a simple switch and not a relay switch?