Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

220/240 volts

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandmantoy

I finally broke down and got a new compressor for my garage. I am a machinist mostly not an electri. any way the compressor I am replacing is 220 volt sears. The new comp. is bigger and says 240 volts, single phase same as the old one. Wired new compressor in place it doesen't work. I am assumeing 220v and 240 v are the same 2 120v lines and a ground. In this case I have a bad motor or just an old fart moment is 220v and 240 volts the same hook up? I have checked the voltage paths with a meter and they are connected correctly lol, all the way to motor. I have even checked how the other compressor is wired they are identical except for this motor on the new one looks cheaply built and has 2 start capaciters on top instead of one on the old compressor. my confidence is now confused lol. can someone set me straight thanks.

I for the heck of it I disconnected 1 120v line from the motor and connected a ground to it and tryed it the motor runs? I didn't run it but for a few seconds but it ran. Im thinking the motor is wired wrong, I did something wrong, bad motor?

Make sure both '120 volt' lines aren't on the same phase, which would give you 0 volts phase to phase..this is a common problem when old fuse panels or two single pole breakers are used, they both end up on the same phase and you get 0 out phase to phase and 120 phase to ground..

thanks, Gerty