Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

20watt Bike light

Status
Not open for further replies.

smokengunz

Hi all I'm new at this so I need some instruction.

I am trying to build a 20watt Bike light LED driver, multi level dimmer, single push button unit.

I have attached a rough cct diagram. Can I use a 4 bit binary counter (with amplified O/P's) to drive the power transistors?
I have tried to build this already but its a no go

Some Part #

4 bit binary counter: SN74LS93N
Amps: UA741CP
Transistors: BD679

Attachments

• CCT-1.JPG
    CCT-1.JPG
    37.6 KB · Views: 170
More info

Errr i only show half the 4 bit counter in the diagram and the amps are driven by the battery. Im not sure about the feedback loop on the amps either

When i built it the binary counter would output 0.1v on A,B constantly?

the idea is that it has 3 different light level settings and off by using the binary counter to control the various trannies.

Why is your schematic a negative picture?

Your opamps have no voltage gain so their output is only about +3.5V.
But your LED array probably needs 12V.

Even if you removed the 1k feedback resistors at each opamp so they have voltage gain, their max output will be about 12V and the two transistor emitter-followers will have an output of about 10.5V.

What limits the current in the LED array?