Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

2-4.5VDC input to 5VDC 1 amp output Boost Converter - need help troubleshooting

Status
Not open for further replies.

vloschiavo

First thank you for any assistance with this as I am a complete newbie to electrical engineering with some physics background.

I have built a few of Adafruit's Mintyboosts for friends (Minty Boost! - USB charger for your gadgets) and have been mostly satisfied with their performance. The only issue I have with the design is the limitation of 500mA output. With the newer phones and other gadgetry that can be charged via USB (think tablets, video cameras, etc) this 500mA output results in a painfully slow charge for those larger capacity devices.