Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

18F258-I/SP - Simple Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gadget00

I'm just starting out with microcontrollers - I have (I hope) a relatively simple task.

I have a 18F258-I/SP with this PIC Board:
https://microcontrollershop.com/product_info.php?products_id=1436

I also have a SonMicro SM3005 RFID reader which can send tag data over RS232, as it is received.

I am hoping to set up the microcontroller to log this data, so that a computer can retrieve the RFID tag's data later.

I would imagine this code would be simple, but I haven't been able to find any similar project online.

Any help would be appreciated greatly!

Thanks,
Ethan

gadget00 said:
I'm just starting out with microcontrollers - I have (I hope) a relatively simple task.

I have a 18F258-I/SP with this PIC Board:
https://microcontrollershop.com/product_info.php?products_id=1436

I also have a SonMicro SM3005 RFID reader which can send tag data over RS232, as it is received.

I am hoping to set up the microcontroller to log this data, so that a computer can retrieve the RFID tag's data later.

I would imagine this code would be simple, but I haven't been able to find any similar project online.
That's more than a newbie project. If you're just starting out, you'll have to learn the basics first. Blink some LEDs. Learn to program, and the various tricks of interfacing different hardware.