Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12vDC to 12vAC? Running a 12vAC bathroom extractor from a 12vDC source

Status
Not open for further replies.

MooChaqa

Hi there,

My name is Paul and I am new to tinkering with electronics.

That said, I have successfully installed a 280 watt Solar array in a small single room habitation in France. It works quite well and currently feeds 3 fluorescent bulbs, a 24' flat screen, a small Eeepc netbook and charges numerous USB devices. Great stuff, I am enjoying myself and even learning a little as I go!

However, now I wish to add further items to the system which do not run from the native 12vDC supplied by my batteries.

My manifesto is simple: High efficiency, low power/low watts without having to entirely compromise luxury.

I would like to install a small PIR sensor to turn on both a light in the shower room, and an extractor fan. All low power extractor fan's I can find that are designed to extract humidity from a shower room are all 12vAC.

I guess the question in short is: What is the most efficient way for me to transform the 12vDC from my battery into a supply suitable to turn on a 12vDC bulb and a 12vAC fan from a single PIR switch?

Many thanks and hi to all!

Are you sure they are 12Vac? More likely 120Vac. Why not use a 12VDC Muffin Fan like in a computer?

Hi there,

This fans electrical requirements are:

12 Vac 50/60Hz AC Voltage.
16 Watts.
1.7 Amps.