Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12V PC fan controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

cooee2

This is my first post and I'm new to electronics.
I want to build a circuit to reduce excess speed/ noise on a (12v 0.08A) fan in my PC. It's a two wire setup I rigged to actively pull air into the PC case.
Then, with a separate circuit, I'd also like to be able to control the speed of my (12v 0.28A) CPU cooler. It's also way too fast and noisy for its heat sink which is virtually always cold. This CPU fan however uses three wires and gets its feed from the mobo CPU fan hook up.
I tested a 1k carbon potentiometer on the 0.08A (two-wire) fan, it worked fine, but started to get a little warm. I want it to be reliable and I'd like to take heat away from the carbon pot - the Tandy guy suggested a transitor. Any thoughts and (easy to understand) diagrams please.
Regards, cooee2

if your 80mA fan is making audible noise, it's time to replace it ... are you sure it's not 0.8a?

as for the cpu fan, search out a program called speedfan - it will control your cpu fan via software. your motherboard BIOS should also have an option to control the cpu fan. any sort of external speed controlling device you cook up will prevent your system from monitoring the cpu fan, which in general is a bad idea.

"Tandy's" suggestion of a transistor is good, it is easy to heatsink a transistor and have it burn off current to slow the fan down.