Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12V Motor Circuit Design - Bass Fishing Trolling Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

BassFisher

Hey everyone,

I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade so this whole electronics world usually doesn't go over too well with me. I have been scratching my head as to how exactly I can control the propeller direction and speed of my trolling motor.

The model is a Minn Kota 55lb Thrust Endura trolling motor that runs at 12V with around a 55W load at full throttle, which means around 4.6A of current if I am not mistaken.

It broke recently and I have taken it upon myself to come up with a better solution to regulate the speed so it is infinitely adjustable from 0% to 100% and not five different set speeds.

I was thinking of using a DPDT switch wired so that it will reverse the polarity, F-Off-R, but I am having trouble finding the right device to regulate the voltage so I can slow it down. I was thinking of using a potentiometer but I cannot find one rated high enough, thought about using a house dimmer switch but I guess that won't work, a rheostat but I can't find one that will work correctly, and finally an infinite switch such as one used in an electric stove range.

I have no idea what device to use to lower the voltage and how to wire it, so I am hoping some members here can help me out!

And as a side question: