Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12v 2 second cooldown circuit help..

Status
Not open for further replies.

supadave

First off, I'm a newb and will admit it. I know how to read circuit schematics for the most part but unfortunetly with my limited experience working at this level I need some help. I've never actually built a circuit but I have replaced components and such with direction. With that said, here is what I need and I hope it is simple. I'll try to keep it simple.

I got a 12vDC power source feeding an LED light. When the power source gets turned off I need about 2 seconds of residual charge going to the device and it doesn't need to be 12vDC it can slow drain like I imagine a Capacitor would do. I just don't know what I need to build such a circuit. What type and size cap and if I need anything else, etc. Please, I really need this for a project and need some help. I tried searching for a while but couldn't find anything. I may not of searched the right keywords either but I did try.

Thank you.
David

Last edited:
Hi David

This is where some info is needed about the LED and LED circuit. Maybe a circuit drawing? For example using a capacitor as you mention the LED current would need to be known to determine how long the LED would remain on after the supply was removed.

Ron