Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12c508a - Power Timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

PDubya

Apologies if this is overly obvious, but I'm new to pic programming.

I've got some little 12c508a's - and would like to just setup a simple power timer. The idea is basically to have a push-button that when it's pressed turns the circuit "on" and after say 2 hours turns it off. If the button is pressed anytime within that 2 hour window, the countdown would reset again.

I finally can do some basic stuff with the 16f628a (ooooh, blinkey lights!)- but don't want to use a huge pic just for a timer if I don't have to.

Thanks everybody!

You should start with an input that has an internal pullup. The button should ground the input. The program should look for a transition from 1 to 0. Once it "sees" the transition it should wait for some tens of milliseconds and sample the input again. If it is still low then it is a valid push. Conversely if the 0 to 1 transition is detected then you should wait some tens of milliseconds and sample the input again to see if it has returned to the high state. There are many variations on the basic debounce algorithm but the idea is the same.

The next challenge is to figure out how to count two hours worth of timer ticks. For a counter of this length you want the slowest clock you can get. I'll consult the data sheet and get back to you with specific recommendations.

Edit: