Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

120Vac to +/- 12Vdc

Status
Not open for further replies.

rekent

I have a 3 prong plug going into an American wall outlet and need to convert that voltage to a buffered positive and negative 12 volts for use in a circuit. I am an early EE student and understand slightly beyond the basics of electronics design, but the details of dealing with AC power still elude me.

Any suggestions on how I might achieve this task? 120Vac to buffered +/- 12Vdc?

You need a 120V transformer with two 12V or a center-tapped 24V output winding, two bridge rectifiers and capacitor filters to generate unregulated DC, and then two regulators to provide the 12VDC (such as an LM317 if you current is no more than an ampere or so per output).

What is the current you need?

Since you are a student it would be a good learning exercise for you to generate a schematic and have us critique it. You won't learn much if we spoon feed you the answer. Google what you need to know such as this on power supplies. Also Google about the 317 regulator.

The trick to being a designer is not knowing everything but knowing where to find everything.

Another valuable engineering skill; throw money at it :D Buy two of these.

Since you are a student...