Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1/4 second 12v lamp delay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

swedluap

Forgive me for being a complete noob.

I want to build a circuit to delay an automotive light bulb by merely 1/4 to 1/2 second. I want to keep it small and simple. I have no idea where to start.

Have the switch connect a simple low pass filter (a big resistor in line with a modest capacitor connected to ground) to a Schmitt triggered buffer. When the switch is triggered the capacitor will take time to charge up to the Schmitt buffer's trigger voltage. If you use an SPST switch you'll also get the delay during turn off. If you want the on delay with instant off you'd have to use a DPDT switch so that when the switch was off the Schmitt buffer input was shorted directly to ground after the resistor. The Schmitt buffer itself would drive a relay or transistor to actually turn the light on. If this description isn't enough let me know and I'll draw out a schematic for you. All of these terms are searchable on Wikipedia if you're really confused.

Last edited:
swedluap said:
Forgive me for being a complete noob.

I want to build a circuit to delay an automotive light bulb by merely 1/4 to 1/2 second. I want to keep it small and simple. I have no idea where to start.
Which automobile bulb are you talking about? Is it a headlamp, taillight,or panel lamp?

Sceadwian said: