Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1-4 Gear Indicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lloyd

Hi Guys!! I'm new in here and I'm new to electronics and have a little knowledge about it. I'm trying to do a project in where I have a car with manual gears 1,2,3 & 4. Each will be represented by a switch so altogether 4 switches. The switches are connected through a logic circuits and ended with a 7-segment LED.

When 1 is pressed, it displays "1" on the LED, When 2 is pressed, it displays "2" on the LED, When 3 is pressed, it displays "3" on the LED, When 4 is pressed, it displays "4" on the LED,

*NOTE; I need to represent the logic circuits as Diode-Transistor-Logic or Resistor-Transistor-Logic.. Can anyone here help me build the schematic for this project? I have very little knowledge on this stuffs.. So i got no choice but to seek for help! Thanks! Cheers

Is this a homework or school project?
I need to represent the logic circuits as Diode-Transistor-Logic or Resistor-Transistor-Logic
Why?

It's a school project.. Basically, it's just a concept for my project.

It's the main requirement for project.

Ok, start by choosing the 7-seg display - it will be either common cathode or common anode configuration. Then, for each switch connect a diode to every segment that should be lit when you press the switch. Don´t forget current limiting resistor on each segment.

Your are aware that no one uses DTL or RTL logic anymore(?).