Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1:350 Tirpitz Battleship lighting

Status
Not open for further replies.

rksl66

I am new to this electronics scene, but I am building the above and want to put lights near her portholes and upper controll towers to give the effect of the ship been alive. I would prefer for this to be solar powered so that she lights up at night times only. Can anyone help me on the parts I require and the schematics. All help apprec

I take it this is a model?
how big and is it feasible to put "lights" in the hull to light up the portholes instead of each porthole?
how many portholes?
a cool effect would be to use PWM. then it would resemble flickering lights. not a bunch of flicker. perhaps white and yellow LEDs mixed together to give that warm light feel.LEDs for less battery drain.
A circuit is relatively easy. Batteries would be preferred (a wall wart better) then a photo transistor or CDS to detect dark.
either a 7555 or a PIC (micro controller). with the PIC you could connect several LEDs so the flicker is not all the same and battery life would be longer with a PIC (you put it to sleep in daylight.

okay heres the specs

upper deck bow 8 portholes 10mm apart.... 17 on stern various positions adding upto 3cm
lower deck bow 9 portholes 10mm apart.... 15 on stern various positions adding upto 3cm
length of model 28cms all up.