Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ZIF Sockets

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trevors

Hi All,
Does anybody know where I can buy some relatively cheap ZIF sockets. I'm only a beginner on micrcontrollers and have chosen to use the 16F84 even though these are more expensive than others, and I've just broken 2 pins off already. I'm in South Africa and they sell here for about $10 which is quite expensive.

Trevors said:
Hi All,
Does anybody know where I can buy some relatively cheap ZIF sockets. I'm only a beginner on micrcontrollers and have chosen to use the 16F84 even though these are more expensive than others, and I've just broken 2 pins off already. I'm in South Africa and they sell here for about $10 which is quite expensive.

hi,
Have you tried eBay.? lots listed.

I think this price is what you can expect for a ZIF socket, at least for a new one ...
By the way, why using the old PIC16F84 ? Try to look at for example PIC16F628A or PIC16F88 - both are cheaper and more powerful and have the same pinout. PIC16F88 even supports debugging so I think it is a very good choice for starting with PIC micros.

Petr

Yes, try eBay, I did and got a great deal.

I got a load off Ebay as well for 1/5th the price of mainstream catalogue suppliers.

They are probably Chinese fakes (M3) but hey ho.

Mine were M3 too and seem to be alright.

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I will try Ebay. Petrv : I will have a look at the 16F628a

Last edited:
Trevors said: