1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Your fastest ACTUAL download speed (screenshot req.)

Discussion in 'Computers and Networks' started by Krumlink, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Krumlink

    Krumlink New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I'll be able to drive and I have talked to several nearby computer repair places nearby, so will be driving myself to the bank :p
     
  2. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Krumlink, games do not need that much down bandwidth, upstream bandwidth maybe, but even MMORPHS like WOW don't need more than bout 32kB up. I get about 35kB up to a speed test site in California, nothing I can't play. Anything more than that might be useful for some first person shooters being it helps with lower latency, but not many. If you want to pay for it though that's fine. When you get it try downloading a big linux distribution from a torrent. If there are enough seeders in the torrent you'll get fantastic download speeds.

    It seems to be on topic, and I'm curious, does anyone know of a bandwidth monitor that you can install in a taskbar, or vista sidebar? Not to measure current speed but to measure total actual bandwidth used over a a week/month whatever.
     
  3. Krumlink

    Krumlink New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    The circumstances of each of our bandwidth needs are different. It is impossible to argue your situation when you don't know all the details of our useage.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,659
    Likes:
    429
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA

    If you need all that capacity because your one of those bulk junk mail distributors I am coming over there personally and wreck up the place! :D

    But if your needing it for good honest money making stuff tell us more and how we get in on it!:)
     
  6. HiTech

    HiTech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,874
    Likes:
    30
    Location:
    Penna. USA
    Yeah, those very high bandwidth speeds aren't necessary unless you're gaming and such. Mine is around 2Mbp and I game at times and being older now, my reflexes are slower these days, so all the speed in the world isn't going to better my scores. It's difficult to finish in the top 10 places against young gamers who have fast connections, fast reflexes, rudder pedals, X-Box type controllers, and such. Sometimes I don't why I even bother!:(
     
  7. gabeNC

    gabeNC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    North Carolina


    Yeah... but If you quit they can't pad their stats anymore. :rolleyes:
     
  8. pcbheaven.com

    pcbheaven.com New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes:
    1
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Styx

    Styx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    thats 2.02Meg/sec. I went for a fairly big package to ensure a constant download to check I was saturating my pipe
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    That had to have been cached, or local?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2009
  11. Styx

    Styx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    nop I cleared my local distfile directory first
    I am on 24mbps download and 1.3mbps upload. I actually get 20mbps and 1.3mbps
    Which works out to be roughly 2.## megabyte/sec download and ??? upload
     
  12. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Damn nice FTP servers you used there =) So much of the net nowdays throttles throughput.
     
  13. sujith34

    sujith34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
  14. cr0sh

    cr0sh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Likes:
    17
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    [​IMG]

    Not the fastest I've ever seen on this connection, but still well within my SLA...

    :)
     
  15. salviya

    salviya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    My speed test results are,

    Downloadspeed:1.779Mbps
    Uploadspeed:0.829Mbps
    I performed my internet speed test here Scanmyspeed.com.
    Is this good or not?
     
  16. Simple Minimal

    Simple Minimal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    [​IMG]

    The actual speed is quite close ( 2Mbps +/- 0.2Mbps ) to what you see above.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  17. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    salviya and Simple Minimal, this thread is over 3 years old. There is a more recent speed test thread here (granted, it started even earlier, but it's been posted to for the past year).

    Before posting on another thread, please make sure it is up to date. We try not to resurrect old threads here unless it's absolutely necessary. :D

    Welcome to ETO, guys :)

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page