1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Yamaha Receiver not turning on

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by rick79, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. rick79

    rick79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Yamaha Receiver RX-V795a
    The receiver wont turn on, all i hear is two clicks on the relay. I dont have too much experience in electronic repair so i was hoping someone can help me on finding the problem. Ive taken a few pictures of the power board t
     

    Attached Files:

  2. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes:
    93
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
    ONLINE
    Grab the service manual (Google the model number + service manual) , start the receiver up in diagnostics mode and run through the system diagnostics and see if that throws up any clues. If you can't start it up in diagnostics mode, you'll need to read the schematics and test various points for the correct voltages or waveforms.
     
  3. rick79

    rick79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Thanks for replying,
    I couldn't find a service manual online. Are there any components on this power board that has most likely blew out that I can test with my multimeter, or anything I can just try replacing?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. tunedwolf

    tunedwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes:
    62
    Location:
    UK

    Funnily enough, it's the first hit in google...

    http://elektrotanya.com/yamaha_rx-v795a_rds_htr-5170.pdf/download.html

    Your problem is unlikey to be on the power board :)
     
  6. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,001
    Likes:
    93
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
    ONLINE
    There is a chance you have a dried out capacitor somewhere on a board but without the proper test equipment you'll struggle to test them.
     
  7. rick79

    rick79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    I cant get the manual to download. So i should be looking past the power board for something else causing it not to turn on?
     
  8. rick79

    rick79 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Yeah, it sux i don't have a capacitor tester
     

Share This Page