Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Would this be practical, how would you go about it? (Data-aq + func-gen project)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Triode

As some of you might know, I'm a Mechanical Engineering student and I make my tuition by contracting custom equipment, mainly for professors, at first it was purely mechanical stuff, but as I've learned electronics it has become more robotic/mechatronic, and as that trend is increasing my job offers and the amount of pay offered, I'd like for it to continue.

I have been approached about making a force oscillating tester. Meaning based off of a function it is to apply a force, not a position. Desired features are that it can accept programmed functions, shut off after a desired time or number of cycles, and record the displacement and forces experienced at the end of the part being tested, in this case a bike fork.

specs:
applicable force: +200 to -200 lb
cycle speed: .25 to 3 cycles per second
max displacement: +/- 2 inches,
20 position and force samples per cycle
accurate to +/- .05" and +/- 2lb
Due Date September, 2010