1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Working on an eagle schematic and pcb from a later version of eagle?

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Flyback, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. Flyback

    Flyback Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes:
    34
    Hello,
    I use Eagle Pro 6.5.0 (cost £900) on my computer.
    A junior engineer has layed out a prototype PCB in the free version of Eagle (7.1.0).
    I now need to evaluate his work and tidy it up. Is it possible to view and edit his schematic and pcb in my Eagle version 6.5.0?….or do I have to download the free version 7.1.0 in order to look at his work and edit it?
    (I heard a rumour that if one loads the latest version of Eagle onto your PCB, it invalidates and puts a “virus” into any previous version of eagle that one has, and renders all the libraries forever unuseable in the previous version of Eagle…is this true?
     
  2. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,329
    Likes:
    585
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    Who knows?
    Why don't you just try it and see what happens?

    Why would a company do something like that.
    More than likely someone downloaded a dodgy version which was full of viruses.

    If you have the source discs for your £900 software, and you back up the libraries, there should be no problem (except and hours work to reload) if the new version does trash the old one.

    JimB
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Wilksey

    Wilksey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    553
    Likes:
    20
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Lol, they run side by side.
    Your workspaces can be kept separate also for preferences.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. kubeek

    kubeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes:
    186
    Location:
    Prague, Czechia (not Chechnya)
    ONLINE

    It used to be that the cracked versions ruined your files, but I doubt this will be the case with running a legitimate older version and new trial one side by side.
    If are not sure then either backup your files or run the trial in a sandbox.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes:
    502
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    The answer is YES. You can open a 6.5 file with 7.1 edit and save, or create a file with 7.1, open, and save it with 6.5

    I do not like the tarted up icons and screen in version in 7.1. I have both and use 6.5 in preference. (Both versions were purchased from Cadsoftusa, not cracked.)

    John
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page