1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless robot (with a camera)

Discussion in 'Robotics & Mechatronics' started by bloody-orc, May 14, 2005.

  1. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi i'm making a robot that has 2 cameras on it and now i'm stuck on how to get image from the cameras to my pc what is max 100meters(9140? yards) away from that robot. the cameras i try to use are usb webcams (the cheapest i could find). I thought using WiFi cause i have one for my laptop but some of the guys sed, i could'nt use them cause they cant send USB data... I dont have no PC's on that robot and ar not planing them either. only some pic's to control my robot.

    I would like to send image from my robot to läptop and some data from my laptop to the robot aswell(commands to the pic) so it has to be a tranciever styled thingy...

    any ideas?
    Waiting for answers
    Rain
     
  2. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    Hope you are willing to pay big bucks for this project?

    Cause it aint cheap.

    If you still want to do it post yes.
     
  3. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    ok what exactly costs that much? if rhe range is too big then i'm willing to decrease it 5x (to 20m\18yards) willing to pay ~$100-200
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California

    reply

    More then that, at least in $400 to $500 usd range unless you go with a Pocket PC.

    Got one?
     
  6. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    hmm... nope not jet...
    but if i do buy one then what and how do i connect those things?
    and also what kind of palm do i need?
     
  7. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    Well you want to get a pocket pc not a palm. You should go with a hp or a toshiba.

    I have a toshiba E740 which I love and I am responding to this post with it rite now.
     
  8. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    as i can see it also has integer WiFi but on what distance can it communicate with my laptop.

    and it has only 1 usb port. i have to use a divider to get two? and how to i get the image from thad ppc to my laptop? and can i hook up my pic to it also?
     
  9. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    Well the distance might only be 100 or less feet, maybe a little more but not much.

    Is that a problem?
     
  10. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    is it so that 1 foot is 0.3 m?
    so 100f is 30m?
    if so no problem actually.

    but that toshiba E740 is pritty costy. isn't there anything cheaper? $100 is the aim.

    and could you tell me what are the differences in palm and ppc?
     
  11. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    For a 100 with the Wifi card no way, either way you go it will cost you?

    This is a expensive project that will require items that are extremly expensive.
     
  12. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    oh. ok...
     
  13. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ok well... let's lose the camera.
    leaving only RF communication with robot and my laptop. are there any cheap wayss to do that? 1 channel needed only. to send data from my pic to laptop (sensor values) and some commands from laptop to my pic. range is 100-30m
     
  14. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
  15. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,216
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I would suggest you look at http://www.rfsolutions.co.uk/acatalog/SmartRadio_Transceiver_Module.html instead, this one includes the required encoding/decoding so you can send standard serial data. Otherwise you will have to write your own routines.

    BTW, the prices are in UK Pounds, not US Dollars.
     
  16. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    you sed that usin this smart thingy is better to use, but when i looked at the datasheet it seemed, that i dont need all those things.

    what do you meen be encoding/decoding? that i hace to use some kind of a modulation before? why cant i just send pulseout or something like that?

    the extra 5£ is too much for me... i guess
     
  17. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,216
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    You can't send standard serial data over an RF link, basically because it's AC coupled - usually manchester coding is used, but you are quite free to invent your own :lol:

    They will transmit variable width pulses, again though, within the constraints of their AC coupling - you would need to experiment. The more expensive ones come 'ready to use', with a pre-programmed PIC doing all the work for you.
     
  18. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    go to www.rentron.com

    they have a transmiter/reciever that connects to a computer
    the total cost for both would be 120 to 130usd not bad at all.

    Plus free software.
     
  19. Boris

    Boris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Re: reply

    Hi!!!!!
    I found very good transmiter and reciver on site: www.linxtechnologies.com
    Price very low.
     
  20. Roboticinfo

    Roboticinfo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA, California
    reply

    Ya but it is easier to interface with the computer using the rentron tx/rx even though they contain parts from linx.

    It all depends on time wise.
     
  21. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    ok well i chose SC-P tranciever module from linxtechnologies.com
    is it any good? is it "smart" (inside coding) what and when do i send to it? can i communicate wit it via i2c? or serout?
     

Share This Page