Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which Microcontroller you suggest me for my needs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

elisaios

Hallo to all,
i am a student in university in greece(Computer engineering) and now its time to start learning microcontrollers.

So i need help from more experienced guys.
The characherestics that the microcontroller want to have is:

1)be popular
(That means that there are lots of information on internet like tutorials,examples,books with its architecture)

2)Free development tools and simulator
(i dont know if simulator is so important i think it is when you program in assembly whats your opinion?)

3)I want to start from low level in parallel with hi-level.
I want to write some simple assembly programs at first because i like to know what happens in hardware and then move to abstract c,or do it in parallel(so ii need a free assembler to do that and the assembly not to be so complex)
Also i would like to understand its architecture so i wouldn t like a mcu with very complex architecture.

From what i have read on internet i think that a 8 bit AVR or PIC would be good.But which model and which for my needs??

The experience that i have right now is:logical disign,basic electronics,architecture,c programming and little assemply(these experiences are not about microcontrollers but in general)

I would appreciate any help very much.

Last edited: