Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is this stuff?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boobericus

I've been all over the internet trying to figure out what this puddle is and where it came from.
Any help would be appreciated. And yes I'm a complete noob to electronics.

Attachments

• 20201220_061443.jpg
    20201220_061443.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 262
  • 20201220_061800.jpg
    20201220_061800.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 263
Looks like some one was careless when changing the engine oil in their truck!

On a more serious note, I assume that the "puddle" is actually solid.
In which case it looks like some kind of potting compound, a hard setting resin used to protect electronic circuits and components.

Why it is poured on the circuit board like that is unusual.
It could be that what is under there is sensitive to the environment, humidity, dust etc.
Or it could be that the designer/maker of the board does not want anyone to be able to copy what is under there,
or to be able to repair it if it breaks down.

My best guesses, for what they are worth.

JimB

Thanks for the reply! Yes, it is very hard. The board is from a radio shack scanner. I've never seen this before. If they did it on purpose
pretty messy!

Thanks for the reply! Yes, it is very hard. The board is from a radio shack scanner. I've never seen this before. If they did it on purpose
pretty messy!