1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

What essential feature is missing from this Samsung Monitor/TV?

Discussion in 'Product & Service Reviews' started by KeepItSimpleStupid, Jan 23, 2015.

  1. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2015
  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,283
    Likes:
    1,222
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    KISS, that's just a link to the manual/support. Which bug/feature do you mean?
     
  3. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    Look at the manual and guess what I feel is an essential missing feature. Hint: Its related to the TV channel scanning setup.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

    Or you could just tell us. I have a few Samsung HDTVs and the basic feature set is fine. I don't bother with their network features.
     
  6. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    Have a sense of adventure. I get off on the details. I'll fess up in a day or so.
     
  7. tronitech

    tronitech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Stop farting about and tell us. :p

    It'll probably be nothing/irrelevant because Samsung do make some excellent stuff!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    OK, the missing bug/feature is the inability to add channels, so you can't point your antenna in one direction and "re-scan" and then point in another and "update". There is a mention of an "auto-delete" that's run after a scan which can be aborted. The purpose, it seems is to remove "scrambled" channels.

    I haven't checked if of other Samsung TV's have this bug too.

    My low-cost CECB (Coupon Eligible Converter Box) which was used to ease the conversion to DTV in the US has this functionality. With my CECB, I can also use the remote to select a "scanned and stored" virtual channel OR input the real channel number and the corresponding virtual channel will appear.

    Annoying things with my CECB's which are all dtx9950: www/dsconverter.com
    1) No NTSC mode with volume control - OK, cost issue)
    2) With an EPG (Electronic Program Guide) displayed, channel selection is disabled.
    3) With signal strength displayed, channel selection is disabled.

    Comments? I guess everyone has cable?
     
  9. nsaspook

    nsaspook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes:
    219
    Location:
    Fairview, Or
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  10. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,290
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    So no 'bug' at all, it's working EXACTLY how a digital TV is supposed to :D
     
  11. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    Nah I have stations from basically two directions. Basically 92 and 46 degrees. 6 stations, say * 3 digital channels each, could mean a loss of 18 channels. There are about 16 real channels at say 3 virtual channels each, in the most used orientation.

    My $50 government approved box designed to convert off the air DTV (NTSC/8VSB) signals to channel 3/4 NTSC or composite video has the re-scan, update and edit.
    Edit is more of a "soft edit". They remain in the channel list, but get skipped with channel up/dn. They can easily be re-enabled without re-scanning. It might be useful to remove stations that broadcast only in Spanish for me.
     
  12. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,290
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    That's your problem - not the TV's - it's working exactly as TV's are designed to - the fact your old set-top box does something 'unusual' makes no difference.
     
  13. James Marsh

    James Marsh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Plano, Texas 75024 United States
    I don't think so Samsung's all TVs suffer from the same disease because they use somewhat different technologies in their different models.
     

Share This Page