Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Violent buzzing from computer speakers

Status
Not open for further replies.

longtallsally

Hi there, a total noob here with what should be a fairly simple question and answer, but based on my limited advanced knowledge of circuit design, I was hoping for some help from those more experienced than me.

So it is a set of Monsoon elecrostatic speakers with a powered subwoofer (typical setup really). I have done some general googling and research on the "ground loop" humming that many suffer from and resolve with various electronic bits. However, I'm pretty certain that this is not my problem as no matter what I've done and in multiple locations the problem persists- so I ruled that out as the source.

Being unemployed and needing a break from the job search, I tore into it to see if I could see any obvious issues, which of course I saw none. Here is the setup:

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

If I touch in the upper center of the board here, I get a horrible buzz. I figured I was just grounding out something, but thought I'd mention.

**broken link removed**

If I touch the spot mentioned above and the power supply it actually cancels out and the sub goes completely off, but the speakers stay on.

So my question is what component has gone bad and where might I be able to source it? I'm not a noob with a soldering iron or a meter, so if I can get a little guidance, I should be good.