Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UAV Seaplane w/ camera for finding fish!

Status
Not open for further replies.

robertinbaja

I have friends who fish commercially, who asked if I could help them design a model seaplane, for deploying while deep sea fishing, to help locate areas where the fish are boiling. I am an experienced RC pilot, and know that others have extended the range of their RC controls,and added hi-quality video capabilities... I need to be able to control this plane at distances of 5 miles
or more, and receive the video transmission, to be able to identify hot locations! I believe a compass module such as the Parallax model 29133 HMC5883L, and the Analog Devices ADX335L 3-axis accelerometer would make the remote piloting much easier, by providing the remote pilot with roll, pitch, yaw, and compass heading, as well as an altimeter, and the camera view, as well! My only unsolved concern is extending the range of the RC transmitter, and choosing a transmitter for the video transmission from the aircraft. My friend who owns the boats has offered to finance the project! I would appreciate any help the members could provide! I know we will need a hi-gain yagi style antenna on the boat and to have it aimed at the plane very tightly.

you need to provide with other details as well, type of transmitter you intend to use frequency etc, more details the more people in ETO can help.