Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

tri color led working backwards

Status
Not open for further replies.

JIMFUN71

Hello fellas,
My name is Jim and I am an industrial electrician of 30 years. I have worked with everything from 30kv substations to 480v ac mcc's to 24v dc proxes. Now I have discovered programmable IC's like the Arduino and Raspberry Pi. I am currently working on a simple circuit. I just bought a tri color led...shack #276-0028. I am trying to make a 16MM color led 0-255 for red,green and blue. I followed several tutorials and each one said that the long pin on the led was the ground or collector and the other 3 pins were the colors or emitters. I worked this method for several hours to no result. Just before I gave completely up and took the led back to the shack , I (for giggles) hooked positive voltage to the ground and grounded the color legs out and it works. Is this not backwards? How can you control 3 different colors if you have a common source? You cant pwm the grounds can you? Has anyone ever heard of anything like this? Thanks for your help,
Jim

Such LED's can be either common anode or common cathode, you order the type you want - PWM can be done just as easily in either case, and in fact PWM (or even just switching) is easier in the ground side.

Hi,

Yeah just switch the three 'cathodes' to ground to turn the respective LED on.