1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Tool chains For the STM32F4

Discussion in 'ARM' started by be80be, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I was wondering whats the best set for the STM32F4


    Tool chains Iar, Keil, Atollic, Altium.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2011
  2. DirtyLude

    DirtyLude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes:
    56
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    If you're looking for compiler/linker/debuggers.
    IAR/Keil both have limited size free options. They are expensive commercial products though without any kind of non-commercial licensing, so if you want to go all out you pay thousands of dollars for the system.
    Rowley Crossworks: This is what I use. Based on the GCC compiler, but the IDE/debugger are simple to use, pretty powerful, and there is a $150 full working non-commercial license option.
    You can also try Codered, which is similar GCC based.
    GCC/Eclipse/OpenOCD: I have not looked at this option in a while, so I don't know if anyone has made this any easier, but I found it very difficult to get this working. At the time OpenOCD had some troubles with 64bit systems as well. I'm sure they've worked that out. Anyway, totally free.

    Those are the only ones I have had experience with.
     
  3. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I've used CodeRed but what I have doesn't work with the on board programmer. I looked at Rowley Crossworks it looks good CodeRed is great but it cost a lot to.

    But I found A tool that lets you load with the programmer that's on the ST board could use that with CodeRed
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Mike - K8LH

    Mike - K8LH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes:
    109
    Location:
    Michigan, USA

    Hi Burt,

    I installed the Atollic IDE but I'm still struggling. I have not been able to install a valid driver for the ST-Link USB interface so far.

    Regards, Mike
     
  6. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Mike I had a problem like that with a board I have that used LPCXpresso's It was the Link
     
  7. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Hey i just got that stm32F4 board a few days back and havent had much time to play. i couldnt get it working at all in crossworks. Even with the correct tools installed. I get a USB error. Sucks!...
    Since i have the weekend off i dont have to sleep much. Hence i can play with it now. So ill give you guys some updates real soon.. hopefully good news :)
     
  8. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    So far kind of good news... no usb error but yet another error...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      220.4 KB
      Views:
      205
  9. Mike - K8LH

    Mike - K8LH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes:
    109
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Hi Jason,

    What does the STLINK/V2 look like in the Control Panel Device Manager?
     
  10. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Mike It looks like this in mine
     

    Attached Files:

  11. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Mines is different... (Sorry for late reply, i didnt get a email on new post :( )

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  12. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Jason did yours work mine said that at first but it was the wrong driver? When I got it to work it shows up as posted

    Or let me rephrase that it shows up as a ST-Link dongle till it loads the driver after that it loads the right driver from the start. when plugged in
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  13. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Ok I still get the DEBUG error thing but i think i know why. Crossworks supports the STM32F407VG but these are different they are STM32F407VGT6.

    Perhaps thats why it cant find the ROM stuff. Its too new for crossworks. I know its not the ST-LINK itself because i can read/write to the MCU using the "STM32 ST-LINK Utility" program itself.
     
  14. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Arg! im going to give up for tonight perhaps heh.. I cant even get uVision to work right with it. Gives me a cant load afx or something like that. So for now ill stop to rest my poor brain. :)
     
  15. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    OK here is a conversation with Crossworks support.

    ME:
    Rowley:
    Downloading it now and will give my update shortly
     
  16. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    YES! It works in crossworks. Well, it connects no problem. Now to code a test...
     
  17. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    OK More bad new but im sure its probably something i did or didnt do.
    Code (text):

    #include "stm32f4_discovery.h"

    void main()
    {
      while(1)
      {
     
      }
    }
     
    I tried to compile the above and get errors:
     
  18. Mike - K8LH

    Mike - K8LH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes:
    109
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Jason,

    Thank you so much for the effort so far. I have a couple mid-terms on Monday but I'm looking forward to getting back to this afterwards.

    Cheerful regards, Mike
     
  19. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Ok if i change the architecture to V7m it compiles but not sure how this affects the MCU? ... googling now :)
     
  20. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    No Problem! Im glad i can help anyone :) I still feel like a HUGE nooB! heh :)
     
  21. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,794
    Likes:
    134
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Here my first go with TrueStudio so far so good it complied
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

Share This Page