1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Toggle switch question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Switch, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Switch

    Switch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Right.
    Toggle switches

    What I need is a toggle switch, 3 locking positions. ie ON-ON-ON.
    but What I need is it for be all fed from 1 input.

    So 1 to 3
    So that it selects between 3 inputs.

    almost every toggle switches i've found do THIS
    [​IMG]

    Which is not what I need.

    Does what I want exist? or will I have to bodge it with relays and diodes?

    I only need a single pole switch (switching one connector, not a pair)

    Help!
     
  2. shortbus=

    shortbus= Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes:
    75
    Location:
    youngstown, oh
  3. Switch

    Switch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    I might be very dim. But I cant find what I need.

    Symbolicly it would look something like this
    [​IMG]
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Vizier87

    Vizier87 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Johor Bahru, Malaysia

    hmmm. Mechanical relays are bulky and power hungry. What is your application? Switching motors?
     
  6. Ross Craney

    Ross Craney New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    218
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    you can get SP3T (single pole triple throw) switches in slide or rotary. You can get triple throw toggle switches BUT the centre position was always OFF.
     
  7. Switch

    Switch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    ok,
    its to handle a few LED's each, so we're not talking huge currents or voltages
    what the switch needs to do is select

    Position 1 - Set A
    Position 2 (middle) - Set A and B
    Position 3 - Set B

    (obviously I could just do this with 2 simple toggle switches, But I like the idea of 3 position toggle), obviously with an On-Off-On (easily available by contrast) I could Jury-rig it to supply power to both sets when Pos 1/3 were not selected (using a relay)

    Edit: Slide and Rotary exist obviously. But I'd like Toggle... looks like its relays or logic gates for me...
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  8. Mike_2545

    Mike_2545 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes:
    29
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Switch

    Switch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    £23 for 2 of them including PnP?!!!! damn
     
  10. microtexan

    microtexan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Likes:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Wouldn't a 3 position toggle switch have 4 connections or pins?:confused:
     
  11. Mike_2545

    Mike_2545 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes:
    29
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Images are for reference only
    See Product Specifications
     
  12. Vizier87

    Vizier87 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Johor Bahru, Malaysia
    Huh? You're switching LEDs with relays? ....a microcontroller will be much better.. they should cost less than 10 bucks if you're using the Microchip's 16F series.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009

Share This Page